Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Finished

[Intro] This shot and script is solely for me. I had other great shots, but, in a years time I need to read this again and ask myself if I really want to do it again ;-)

So, today was race day and KiwiD, Jonathan and I set off on our 80KM adventure MTB race. Canterbury very kindly drove our car back along the route, probably with 150 other cars, on a torturously slow and dusty road. Thanks heaps Canterbury!

After the drivers left at 7am we had another 90 minutes to wait, in the cold. But that was OK, as there was the anticipation of the race. So at 8.30am we set off in a "rolling" and otherwise orderly start. It went well and we got into the front half.

Without all the boring detail, the first 20K or so was a breeze. But, we then hit a headwind and the things changed. After 40K, despite the wind it was still going well - feeling strong and drafting behind others to help offset the terrible corrugations in the road.

60K and the Acheron. Dead.

Quads are buggered. The wind, corrugations in the road, distance - something has well and truly got me. But, still 20K to go. Onwards.

Finally 4 hours and 41 minutes from the start I reach the line. Covered in dust, absolutely exhausted, legs barely able to walk. I never want to bike 80K on a dirt road into a headwind again. It's over.

Beer, 2 hours of therapeutic hot pools, in bed by 8.30pm.

The next morning; Maybe I could do it again ... but, more training, lots more training, and much longer training rides, in fact 80K training rides sounds like a brilliant idea!

[Memo to me] - read that last line again and again before committing to next years event!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.