Avoncliff

Avoncliff is set in the stunning Avon valley, which I pictured here during today's walk, between Bradford-on-Avon and Bath, and is home to Rennie's Avoncliff Aqueduct, which carries the Kennet and Avon Canal across both a railway line and the River Avon.

It was my plan to take a picture combining the canal, railway and river, but I'm afraid I failed abysmally. In the picture above you can see the canal on the right and the start of the railway bridge on the far left with the path over the river in the distance. People walked gaily hand in hand across it, cyclists nonchalantly wheeled across it, but your trusty roving blipper was unable to get further than the railway bridge before being gripped by a powerful, giddying vertigo, with a fear enhanced by the roar of the enormous weir far below. This is as close as I could get while wielding a camera.

I almost kept this failure from you and blipped this colourful stone wall that I came across on the way back to the car, but this is the event that I will remember about this day, so here it is.

Acer series]A Walk At Avoncliff, 8 October 2010 (Flickr album)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.