Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Day at Dad's

Spent the day at my dad's (Haverthwaite, Cumbria) and got a quick blip in the garden.

I am told that the plant is rare and poisonous. I've got the name of it somewhere. I will look this up and update my blip later. Although the weather was pleasant and warm for this time of the year, there was a bit of a breeze - as there always is when you are trying to photograph a flower.


Update:

Aconitum carmichaelii is a species of monkshood (also called wolfsbane), a toxic perennial flower used as an ornamental and in certain areas of medicine. It is commonly called azure monkshood and it has several subspecies.

... the plant is very poisonous. Overdoses lead to numbness of the tongue, lips and extremities, nausea, vomiting, irritability and coma.

... The whole plant is highly toxic - simple skin contact has caused numbness in some people.


I didn't touch it - did I? I don't think I touched it. I hope I didn't touch it!!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.