Wasted

I was supposed do be doing the practical part of my Chartwork and Position Fixing course today - this is one of the British Sub Aqua Club courses to help you develop skills needed around diving.

I've been trying to do it for 3 years now, but it doesn't run often in Scotland, and even when advertised it often doesn't go ahead due to lack of numbers signing up. For some previous courses, I have just gone elsewhere in the country to do them.

Free weekends are pretty scarce for me between work committments, dive trips, and social committments and Ihave defended this date in my diary vigorously for six months or more. I was pleasantly surprised when the theory day went ahead yesterday.

I turned up at Port Edgar slip South Queensferry for before 8am on a Sunday (which I consider uncivilised - I need my weekends to catch up on sleep). Unfortunately one of the boats wasn't able to make it for technical reasons so I didn't get to complete the course. Goodness only knows when I'll find time to get round to this - my diary for weekends is very full already so my chances of being free at the same time as others are slim...

The positive side of all this is that on a grey day I could crawl back into bed for another much-needed four hours of sleep, and I can catch up on some work this afternoon so less week is next frantic.

The best laid plans of mice and men...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.