Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Some Birds

Took a bit flack yesterday after describing an excellent days birdwatching and then blipping The Bervie Chipper. Well I looked back at yesterday's bird photos and trust me I'd have taken more flack if I'd published any of them. They were good records, but they had little photographic merit, plus I take pleasure in being a wee bit obtuse at times.

So today to make up for yesterday here's a picture of some birds.

A lazy morning with no real plan, then somehow we ended up driving to Gosford Bay by Longniddry. Gosford Bay is meant to be The place in Britain to see Red-necked Grebes and it didn't disappoint. It's also not bad for Velvet Scoters either so that was two new ticks for us, but you've got to trust me you don't want to see our pictures taken through the telescope of birds at least half a mile away.

We then moved on to Musselburgh Ash Lagoons where coinciding with high tide there were excellent numbers of assorted waders and gulls so that gave me quite a choice for today's photo, but the last picture of the day of the setting sun and the swans won out. By the way they're not just any old swans - they're Whoopers, they breed in Iceland and spend the winter here.

A Chinese in Mussleburgh, then Mrs L chose the scenic route home following the coast through Portobello, Leith, Newhaven & Granton - it's been a while since we've done that route, but she didn't extend the route to pass her childhood home in March Road, If I'd been at the wheel we'd have found ourselves in McDonald Road somehow - isn't it supposed to be her role to be the sentimental one?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.