Displacement activities

By Detritus

Flashback

Well, almost.

When I was 16 I worked in an office, the lane at the back led to this alleyway past the church, round the back of a garage, and onto King Street, an old road which runs along the river front.

The river used to be a busy port - long before my time - leading to Colmans mustards moving to a site just up the road from here, leading to the Boulton and Paul steelworks being set up over the river from here, and, I guess, influencing the placement of Thorpe railway station here - there used to be sidings for the steelworks, which I remember being dormant when I was young. Now, a cinema, nightclubs, bars and flats cover the old site.

The bit of the building you can see under is Norwich's historic Dragon Hall, and the houses on the left weren't here the last time I walked down this alley. They look new, well designed, and, well, bleh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.