andypowe11

By andypowe11

Typical Girl?

Ari Up, who was lead singer of the UK punk group The Slits, died yesterday aged 48 "after a serious illness".

Writing in the Guardian, Jon Savage says:

By the time the Slits recorded their first album in 1979, they were a completely different band from their thrash beginnings. Produced by Dennis Bovell, the reggae-infused Cut is justly celebrated as a landmark statement that includes strong songs such as Newtown, Shoplifting and, of course, Typical Girls ? an enduring manifesto for young women who seek to reject the norm.

I can still remember listening to Cut for the first time. It was like nothing else around at he time and was, in my opinion, a key point in the growing up of punk - a much more raw, and real, prelude to the kind of male-managed girl-power crap that emerged later with the Spice Girls. It had, and still has, an unusual power to it. One of the few good things about the death of a musician is that it gives you an excuse to go back and listen to their old stuff, as I did this afternoon with Cut on Spotify. See also the video for Typical Girls in the Spectator obituary.

I must admit I also quite liked the album cover and somehow got my hands on a shop poster version (I don't remember where from), about 3m square I think, which stayed on our wall in various student houses in Birmingham. I've no idea what happened to it but I kinda wish I still had it now.

I saw The Slits a few of times live, once in Aylesbury Friars on 19th April 1980 (with @Tim URZ) and again sometime soon after in Manchester with my brother. I think it's fair to say that they always seemed to attract an 'outsider' audience that was rather more weird than many other punk bands.

Great memories but rather sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.