Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Martian Maggot and Marvin

"You make me very angry." (Huff, puff, wheeze.) "Very angry, indeed."

Such is a typical saying of Marvin the Martian, the weird but lovable Looney Tunes character. The best ones are the old cartoons if you can still find them intact. Most Looney Tunes and other vintage cartoons have been gutted and sanitized to the point of being a travesty. Here Marvin poses before his wonky yet cool rocket, Martian Maggot, which is a toy from the movie Space Jam. It folds open into a basketball net and flipper with a couple of balls. I don't like basketball, but I thought the toy was neat. One of my co-workers has the identical toy set in his office.

Anyway, most writers I know have some fun toys or weird items around the house. I'm no exception. Scrat is another blipped toy of the few I've collected as an adult for who knows why. I guess I like the goofballs.

Yesterday's blip: Grass like glass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.