Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Alone time on the rocks

So have you ever had a photo in your head that just needed to try and create?

I've had this gnawing long exposure with open water thing for awhile now and haven't had the opportunity to do much. My first attempt was pretty disastrous in my opinion. I had to resort to a good amount of Photoshop even to make it mildly presentable.

I found a spot where I "thought" I might be able to get some decent long exposure photos, but it isn't a place I can bring my children. My husband was actually home this evening, so I headed out alone and to the beach.

It was instantly obvious I had to ditch my shoes and socks. I could not be climbing around on giant sandstone covered in barnacles and slimy seaweed. I crossed my fingers that no one would walk off with them and that the waves would never reach them either. The waves were incredible at times, and it was a bit scary once in awhile. I was down in a little cove right off our jetty, so it really isn't the safest place I suppose.

I spent about two hours down on the rocks and then realized that the sun was long gone, and it was getting really dark. I had wished for a more colorful image, but the sky was gloomy and gray the entire evening.

I am pleased with a few of the photos, and this one is my favorite. I converted it to b&w since the sky was nearly that already. I managed to stab a barnacle in my foot, which is quite painful. But I had a lot of fun, and that is what counts.

Try it in large for sure!

Edit: I guess this is my 300th shot, though it is a backblip. Not sure if it really qualifies then, as it's really my 299th. So my 300th is actually frontblipped. haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.