The White Room

Feel a bit of a cheat with this one today. This wasn't intended as a blip, but after a fairly intensive morning with a group of students doing some heavy-duty Photoshop work, it's being 'lassoed' in.

I did try and get something else as I'm determined to keep as many outdoor shots going as long as possible into the winter. But, standing under a big golf umbrella in the rain on a back road trying to get some arty shot of electricity pylons disappearing off in to the clouds across the fields failed after I stepped back into a huge puddle and flooded my shoe. It was a pretty desperate attempt anyhow, probably best saved for another day.

So, we have here an image I was took (cheers J!) to demo some masking, clipping path and layer mode techniques in Photoshop.

On the subject of image editing, I've been playing around with a very impressive online editor that a colleague pointed me in the direction of. Completely Flash based, completely browser based and, even better, completely free, it made me wonder how much longer the likes of Adobe can justify asking for hundreds of pounds every year or so to use their products. This freebie version feels like it's punching well above it's weight with a full set of editing tools, Layers, Filters and even similar keyboard shortcuts to the software it's been inspired by. If you're into a bit of pixel pushing have a wee look - Pixlr

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.