Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Prime Factors

Today is my 300th blip, so I thought I'd do something a little different! In this picture you see some things that are very special to me, and represent things that I love to have in my life and hope to have in the future.

TWO STRINGED INSTRUMENTS
1. My Viola. Made for me, nearly 20 years ago, my wonderful viola.
2. My Violin. I don't really let it be known that I can also play the violin, however, the secret is now out! I find it really strange, being so delicate with an instrument. I bought this one from a friend around 15 years ago and it's beautiful.
These represent the wonder of music, in all its guises. Playing, listening, live, recorded, classical, popular, whatever. It is one of the most important things in my life.

TWO SPECIAL GIFTS*
1. A Cactus. Given to me by @5357311. In fact, he has given me many cacti, and I have a thriving garden on my bedroom windowsill. They give me much pleasure.
2. My iPhone. Given to me by a wonderful wonderful friend from the internet.
These gifts are worth much much more than the things themselves because of what they represent - people I would never have known if it were not for the internet, gave me things I really value and treasure. To me, they say something about how generous and special people can be, which gives me great hope for the world.

THREE SETS OF DUMBBELLS
These represent fitness and health. I know that I am not naturally fit, and that my health is not always great. However, I know that with some hard work what I do have naturally can be improved. I shall never be a great athlete, and my mental health problems will always hold me back to some extent - I can minimise that though, by exercising and taking care of myself.

FIVE BOOKS
1. Complex Algebraic Curves - Frances Kirwan. Recently arrived from Amazon on the recommendation of @jdstmp, a preliminary look has revealed that I'm really going to enjoy this book - just my kind of maths!
2. 206 Bones - Kathy Reichs. I haven't started this one yet, but I just LOVE her books. Forensic pathology meets murder mystery meets cop novel. Brilliant!
3. Songs From The Other Side Of The Wall - Dan Holloway. This is the Wonderspouse's work! If you want to find out more, then you can look here!
This not only represents contemporary art and "proper" literature (as opposed to "throwaway" detective thrillers which I love) but, of course, is about the Wonderspouse! He had to get in here somewhere!
4. Spoken Here - Mark Abley. Languages, travel, social history. Many many of my interests here!
5. Brandenburg Concertos - J.S. Bach. I learnt to read music at the same time as I learnt to read words. There had to be a score here somewhere!
Of course, all books represent my love of learning and information. Selecting just five is almost an impossible task, so I've gone with ones that are reasonably current in my life at the moment. There are many many more!

FIVE RANDOM THINGS**
1. Completed Airfix Vulcan Bomber.
Represents my love of crafts, doing things with my hands, construction, aeroplanes, engines, transport in general, military history, airshows, my dear dear friend Scharwenka who shares many of these interests with me, and who bought me the original kit.
2. White Cuddly Cat Toy.
This sits on top of the casket containing Athena's ashes and represents our wonderful cats. Bought after Athena died, it reminds us of her and here also represents the fab five who live with us now! I've also recently admitted that I really do love cuddly toys and find them rather irresistible!
3. Stripey Socks.
I'm not much of a clothes person, but I love socks, and I REALLY love stripey socks. I bought these yesterday and am so looking forward to wearing them! They represent washing, housework and domesticity, which I rather like, and also fun and not being too serious about things!
4. Perfume - Vetiver by Guerlain.
Representing the sense of smell, the cleanliness after a bath, beautiful aromas, and just a bit of luxury. Most of the time I'm content with not especially luxurious or expensive things, but from time to time it's lovely to indulge and dream.
5. A Cup of Tea.
Food, drink, and the ever soothing, ever refreshing, ever delicious cup of tea. This one made in one of my London Underground mugs, featuring a picture of Wembley Stadium, which in turn reminds me of great gigs there - and so we're back to music again!

*I could have added Dexter as some"thing" wonderful given to us by someone off the internet, but I doubt he would have sat still long enough!
**Equally, how cool would it have been to have the Fab Five as a five, but I'm certain I couldn't have got them all to sit still together for long enough!

So there you have it, 300 = 2 x 2 x 3 x 5 x 5. Prime factors of 300, prime factors in my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.