Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Halloween party at UCLA

Edit: Am so in love with these photos from this evening's Halloween shoot for the Mom's Club of Santa Monica that I just had to share a few.

Great fun party at UCLA school with all the children dressed in their costumes sitting in the big yellow school bus wagon and visiting all the physical rehabilitation centers which sit alongside the university school. Dolling out candy, trick or treating, all great stuff and a lovely big effort by the staff.

Did you ever see a giraffe with glasses. No? Well you just haven't looked hard enough before. I'm not sure what I'm dressed as. I just have a black dress, Callum's halo and cracked red polish. I finally succeeded in having Jason press the shutter in the absence of a place to nestle the Canon, and he is a severe camera-loather. I didn't leave much for him to do but even when that's the case, you get nothing like you planned - amputations are always rife. This taken under the tall cedars in the playground. I loved this shed before they repainted it, all lovely cracked paint, but it looks pretty cool all sparkling red too.

Photographing for the Moms Club of Santa Monica's party this evening so more costumes and pumpkins in store.

I have this dilemna. Entirely self taught like most of us here, but I have a place on a high end course for a shoot out, giving photographers the chance to work with models in specific areas, engagements, children etc this time it's being funded by clients of the lead photographer so her course is free and it's all for Children's Hospital LA which Reu's a graduate of. Should I be photographer and benefit from the hair and make up artists or have Callum as a model if he'll pose for 2hrs. Would love the later as we get to keep the session shots from 2 days before his birthday by pros and I think I have a good mastering of child photography already, though could do with more engagement experience.

BackBlip: London Girl's Talk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.