Snapping Aboot

By rxpell

Now that's what I call tiny !

I was checking our central heating boiler (which is in an outdoor housing) and was surprised to find a mummified shrew inside when I opened the door !

Poor wee guy, surprised he couldn't find his way out of there as there are plenty of gaps that something this size could squeeze through. Anyway, I think it is probably a Pygmy Shrew (Sorex minutus) but stand ready to be corrected by any small mammals experts out there :-)

I've stuck in a British 2 pence coin for scale which is 25.9mm in diameter ... and has a weight of 7.12 grammes ... according to my book on mammals, a Pygmy Shrew weighs in at between 2 and 7 grammes ... less than the coin ... now that's what I call tiny !

P.S. Backblipped this morning as there was a major broadband network failure yesterday evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.