wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

Helmshore Mill

My 'dear' sister and her tribe are up from London for a few days on a flying visit and as ever think that everybody should drop what they are doing to entertain them. I found the best way to deal with them is to get them on unfamiliar territory in the hope that they will behave. Nevertheless they ran a mock in the mill museum and I think we were lucky not to get to get thrown out! Again, I met someone that I knew. That's three days on the trott-I might start getting paranoid.

For those interested Helmshore Mill is a fulling and spinning mill in Rossendale. Today was the last day of the season before the winter shut down. It's a great place as they demonstrate all the old machinery. You have to marvel at our industrial heritage as we don't make machinery like this any more and lots of the skills that went into making the machines have gone. As for those who look at the past through rose tinted glasses it was far from a golden age. Workers were no more than wage slaves in dangerous conditions making vast profits for the few.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.