Bearing a Heavy Load

His Lordship is under the weather. He is suffering the rigours of a mancold and is incapacitated.
At this point he wishes he were married to someone of greater sympathy than I: someone who would tend to him with care and compassion.

Had I been born with these two qualities, I would have signed up to the nursing profession. As it is, he bemoans his fate in having found me, instead of a lovely motherly nurse. Life can be so unfair.

I'm doing my best running backward and forward with cups of tea and ice cream for his sore throat while cleaning the house and doing the washing.

OK, I spent most of the morning roaming Arthur's Seat, and looking for spring bulbs for the garden in the Land of Flowers. Oh and I went to visit my friend of many talents this afternoon, but only for a couple of hours, and I'm back now about to make him scrambled egg on toast which is what I believe sick people can manage.

The good news is he's feeling a lot better and will probably manage a slice of the stress busting banana loaf I've just made. It can't be man flu then, thank goodness.

This enormous crane has been hard at work today in the vicinity of the Dower House, although to what end I can't see as it disappears with its loads over the roofs to I know not where. But it makes for interesting viewing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.