The Box That Done More

Or to be more geographically accurate, the box AT Dunmore (a village on the River Forth between Stirling and Kincardine).

I've driven passed this old dilapidated telephone box hundreds of times and never seen anyone using it for any of those things advertised. Actually, I don't even know how two of those services would actually work in there, or more so, why anyone would want to.

I guess the mobile phones have really done these old relics in over the past twenty years, though there are still loads of them about. BT even ran a competition for suggestions as to what they could usefully be converted to. I personally liked the idea of having them converted into Wi-Fi stations that would provide public access to a high speed a wireless service. Either that or turn them into libraries.

I'm going to keep my eye out for more of them though and maybe do a wee series of blips-from-a-box; photos taken from the location of various telephone boxes (or, depending on the pungency of piss that may be contained within, shots from inside the box).

Watch this space...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.