Philospher

Only in his spare time ;-)

I'm very tired for a Monday night. I've had broken sleep the last 3 nights from rattlers rolling through. Mostly I've got back to sleep ok but I don't think it's always restful sleep. I know I was sleeping better and missing some aftershocks so it will happen again.

My friendly roofer popped around after work today. He looked over my roof and I'm reassured that the damage I can see is minor. It's amazing what it's withstood. A few lifted flashings and tiles where nails have popped under pressure from movement but nothing major. He'll fix everything this week at the same time he gives the roof a moss treatment. It's very reassuring.

Yesterday I mentioned earthquake proofing my tomatoes. I have a small place and grow tumbling type tomatoes in buckets. Because they tumble I put them on something so the fruit can tumble and grow without touching the ground. I've built a couple of shelves into the inside of my front fence. Pot plants fell off during one of the big aftershocks, and now it's into tomato growing season, I've tied the buckets to the fence. Sorted.

I make my own yogurt. It does it's thing in the hot water cupboard upstairs. The cylinder is well secured with built in wooden shelves for linen. I can see where wood has cracked, some slats have dropped a little and plaster flakes over everything from the earthquakes, but the cylinder is secure. I wedge the yogurt maker against the wooden framework, with linen on either side and a couple of bottles of home brew in a cardboard 6 pack holder in front.

I think I'll be doing that for months to come. Pity, I'd like to drink the home brew ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.