Days Like These...

By mbottodays

St Mary of the Cross

I had a fantastic opportunity to attend the canonization of Australia's first saint - Saint Mary MacKillop. There were 6 canonizations in total and I took so many photos it was hard to choose one for my journal!

I decided on this one because it was one of the only photos I took during the actual ceremony. I'm usually so busy taking photos that I forget to experience the event. I wanted actual memories of this day to go with the photos. Plus, I didn't feel comfortable snapping away during a religious ceremony like this.

But I couldn't resist getting a shot of the relics of the 6 saints that were presented to the Pope. So I quickly raised the camera, zoomed in and clicked away not really looking at what I was shooting. It turned out to be one of my favorite shots of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.