Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Eggstatic!

Woke up this morning to the wonderful news that my November 11th entry was chosen for Blip of the Week. My heartfelt thanks to Blipfoto for this unexpected honour, and to everyone who has commented, favourited and subscribed. Wow. I am so unused to this kind of attention. Not only is it fun, it's also quite a humbling experience.

Because of monsoon-like rain and wind there will be no going outdoors today. Instead, here's another look at the famous egg within an egg, to whom all credit for BOTW is due. I've put it next to another egg from the same batch so you can see just how tiny it is.

Blowing raw egg out of its shell makes me queasy, and I haven't managed to bribe T or the kids to do it for me, so its fate hangs in the balance.

Today suddenly got a whole lot better with the news that one of my heros, Aung San Suu Kyi, is finally free. Now that's something to really be happy about!


Bon weekend.


Postscript, 17 November

My friend, the poet Luisa Igloria just sent me this poem she wrote about the egg. I'm pleased to add it here. Thanks, Luisa!


OVO IN OVUM

You thought
the skin's cracked

membrane
would yield

only the yellow
of another day

risen like revenge
before the viscous

scramble and dash-
but see

this riddle
it has tossed at you

instead:
speckled second

in a series of
drawer-pulls or

Chinese nesting
boxes: orb

of endlessness
you do and do

not want
to touch.


~ Luisa A. Igloria


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.