Instography

By Instography

Up bright early to build Ewan up to Michelin Man proportions with thermals so that he could join the Scouts' Remembrance Day parade from church to the war memorial without his jacket (what's that about?). Mandy foisted the job of taking Ewan along onto me fearing that she'd get involved in the chat with other mums and eventually feel obliged to go to the service. She knew I'd just walk away. I can't be doing with the religiosity, the glorifying or the hypocrisy of claiming that these young men (and now women) died, and continue to die, for truth, honour and freedom (as the Limekilns memorial says). It's worth remembering so that we can stop it, not so we can keep repeating it.

But I hung around watching all the kids assemble and a funny wee lot they in their uniforms and the older kids with their jobs of carrying the flags. I went back to see their parade, with their half-hearted marching.

The car ended up being left at the memorial so once I'd taken Ewan home, I headed back with my Holga to collect it and took a few photos once the wee crowd had gone. But this is just as the kids were all assembled, their flag propped up furled and waiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.