Remembrance - John Betjeman

Had several options for a Blip today including a few taken at Greenwich. However I decided I would like to go with the Remembrance theme.

This picture shows the poppy wreaths around the foot of the statue of Sir John Betjeman located in St Pancas station. A former poet laureate he was a key figure in the 1960s campaign fighting the destruction of this superb neo Gothic archtectural gem.

Late last night we looked through all the images of the Lord Mayor's show and of course found lots of options that I really should have used yesterday instead of the once I quickly posted.

And since its Remembrance Sunday I'm feeling a bit confessional and can now tell you that the show I saw on Friday was 'Dreamboats and Petticoats'. But please don't tell anyone, I promise I will listen to Heavy Metal all this week.


ps. I decided to do this colour pop version of the picture but unfortunately I'm on a train and when I particularly needed a steady hand I was getting thrown about a bit. Apologies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.