The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Foxham

When I looked at the view from the top of Charlcutt Hill yesterday, I noticed the line of trees that demarcated the derelict Wilts and Berks Canal along a stretch that I had not investigated, so I went to have a look today.

I could have photographed yesterday's view again, and again it would have looked quite different. On reaching the canal bridge, which is so slight as to be unnoticeable from the car, I found that the canal is wholly unrestored and the land is private, with no rights of way or permissive access.

The Wilts and Berks Canal at Charlcutt Hill.

I continued to Foxham Common nearby, where the canal north of Cadenham Park Farm takes up from Foxham Lock and much work has been done, rebuilding locks and bridges. I walked the towpath north towards Dauntsey Lock for about half an hour, when approaching dusk obliged me to turn back. Looking at the map when I got home, I am not sure how far I got, as the waymarks shown on this lift bridge, for example, don't seem to be shown as rights of way, and the bridge itself is not shown either.

There is quite a long stretch below Dauntsey Lock that I've yet to walk...

Foxham Locks, 14 November 2010 (Flickr album of 25 images)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.