Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Fog

A day to be high up - above it. Sadly, I wasn't - I was driving and working in it. Temperature hovering around 1C but feeling far colder in the damp air.

I'd nipped up to a favourite viewpoint quickly before work, lured by an astonishing light on Pen y Ghent - but the moment I got into position the cloud level plummeted to ground level and sat there all day. I swear it sees you getting out the camera some days! I quickly fired off this shot before it disappeared. The wierd flat light seemed quite painterly somehow, with the frost on the grass in the shade but warm early morning light breaking through. No shadows - it is fairly unusual to have daylight so dispersed that you get absolutely none. Perhaps that's what makes it look so unreal to me. I've made only the smallest of adjustments - this is pretty much how it came out of the camera.

Still, every time I drove up a hill on my rounds I popped out of the top of the vast bank of cloud - it doesn't matter how many times I do it - I still get a kick out of that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.