John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Obsession....

1 May 2010 (DAY ONE)

Was bored. Had been a member of blip for long time. But never posted. Had heard schlimm talking about all the fun she was having. Went into garden and took random picture. In London, diplomaticdiva was posting her first blip too. (Congratulations bliptwin!)

8 August 2010 (DAY ONE HUNDRED)

Was bad day. Also had to work hard to get blip. What made the day bad (apart from blip) turned out good though and better and better!

16 November 2010 (DAY TWO HUNDRED)

Had a little blipplan for celebrating 200 - only got the day wrong- so didn't work out at all. (Stand by though, because dd and I have put the idea on the shelf for 300.)

So BLIP seems to be pretty well woven into life. 200 days and totally addicted. I know that I'm a better writer than a snapper. (After all, that's what I do most of all day!) But why I love blip is because as a hobby it gets me out and about.

I don't just mean climbing up Blackford Hill on a day when I would rather not. I mean that every day I have the truly immense, stimulating, encouraging - sometimes intimate, sometimes funny, always engaging - experience of "talking" for seconds to new/old friends. And they are in Cairo, in Tuscany, in the foothills of Mount Torlese in South Island New Zealand, in Guernsey, in Oslo, in London, in Troon, in Edinburgh, in Chester, in Grand Rapids, on the Tennessee/Kentucky Border, in Arizona....

Their comments and companionship are like gold. They are such great photographers - but more importantly, kind and supportive commenters.

I am so lucky - apart one or two I will never meet these friends. But they are a daily joy. 200 days of joy. Onwards and upwards - to rest is not to conquer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.