Around the Block

By Barrioboy

Living Culture Change

I get energy from dramatic or abrupt changes in cultural surroundings, such as the time we took off from Rio in 36 C heat and landed in Budapest in a freezing -16C. I felt it today, again, as I enjoyed my menu del dia of cuban rice and chicken wings in garlic, in a bar 'around the block' I'd never set foot in before. I sat reflecting on the language, food and people around me as I read the Daily Telegraph folded to the pages on Prince William and Kate! What could be better!

So, here is Diego who kindly let me take a few shots; he's from Andalusia and has run his bar in the barrio here for 35 years. He never once looked at the camera, so I can't show you his eyes or smile, but I sense he wanted me to capture him like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.