Me, Myself and Catherine

By cspeakman

Dank

It was a shame the mountain weather forecast was so far out this morning. The shots I got are in no way commensurate with the effort put into obtaining them. But that's how it goes sometimes.

The most interesting thing was seeing a very large dog fox, leaving his cover right under my nose. Interestingly, my Patterdale terrier, though never having come face to face with a fox before knew, quite innately, exactly what it was. And his genes were telling him what he should do. He'd scented it quite some time before we saw it - the still dewy morning holding scent well. I'd wondered what it was, since I've never seen quite that look on his face before. Different to the excitement of scenting a rabbit or hare. This was much colder, much more intent. On his face was murder. It was perhaps fortunate for all that he was on a lead - I feel in this situation training would have been no contender to instinct.

Now, where's that lemsip...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.