Don't Look Down!

What an exciting morning I have had.

I was blipping the enormous yellow crane that was parked outside the flat, when the project manager in charge of operations offered to take me up to the very top of the building where they were replacing a very large and massively heavy plate glass window damaged by the recent high winds.

The lift in the new build goes up 8 floors and then we had stairs to climb to the roof terrace of the second highest building in the complex.
The views were simply stunning: a 360 degree panoramic bird's eye view of Edinburgh. The only blots on the landscape were the David Hume Tower and the University Library, sticking out like sore thumbs, and partially blocking out the view of Arthur's Seat.
I've said it before - the University have a lot to answer for in the ugliness of their recent architecture.

The penthouse flat itself is owned by people who only use it about twice a year despite it having cost well over a million pounds. What a waste of that wonderful view..... and just think of all the sunrises and sunsets they miss.

Now it's time to finish the book I have to read for my book group tonight. It's 'Be Near Me' by Andrew O'Hagan and I'm finding it a little tedious.
I think on their first visit, we will have a glass of wine to celebrate. That may also put them in the right mood not to care if the cake is a disaster....... maybe we should make it two or three glasses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.