Snow

Well finally it arrived with a quiet insidious stealth overnight to transform the city into a white winterland.

His Lordship and I donned protective clothing to walk into town in a blizzard with few people venturing out and the buses notable by their absence.

It was a sort of adventure : braving the elements and the Edinburgh equivalent of trekking to the North Pole.

Sometimes the snow fell as hail stones, sometimes very fine powder and at other times in big flakes with the sky a gun metal grey above.

We were on a shopping expedition to buy a townie version of crampons to fit over my shoes and allow me to bound along with no thought of an undignified slip to the ground should the snow turn to ice underfoot.
With the mission accomplished and a passing hello to fellow blipper, Challum, it was an uphill trudge back to the Dower House in a white out.

No sooner back, than the snow stopped the sun came out and the people appeared: lots and lots of them, all busy and intent on having fun in the snow.
Most of the snowmen constructors in the Meadows seemed to be students reverting to their childhood. I suspect the children were on sledges on hillier ground.

There was a very welcome visit from Magpie who arrived rosy cheeked and curly headed on her way home from East Lothian. We sat with hot drinks in the warmth admiring the activity outside the windows.

Now as I prepare my blip, I see a mist surreptitously creeping over the meadows from the west and obscuring all the Lowry like activity in front of me.
Fun over for the day. Now it's looking cold and uninviting.

My blip was taken early this morning as the sky took a deep breath before producing the blizzard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.