Around the Block

By Barrioboy

El Templo de la Sagrada Familia

I looked up from this spot twenty years ago and saw open skies; now I see one of the most fabulous architectural sights I have ever seen.

I truly believe, now, that if there was only reason to visit Barcelona, this would be it! Of course, the outcome will not be to everyone's taste, but hopefully everyone can be inspired by witnessing the realisation of an individual's pursuit of their idea of grace and beauty. For those who missed it, the basilica was dedicated by Pope Benedict on 7th November.

I honestly don't know why I ended up here today. I left our house after a productive day to have a late lunch, and took a few shots of the local prison. Before I knew it I was on the metro, getting off at the stop near the church and walked straight in, there being no queue. I had this morning received an email from a dear friend in China containing the line,'The will of God will never take you where the grace of God will not protect you.'. Who knows if that had anything to do with it. If it did, then it was a blessing indeed.

Please view in LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.