cracker

By cracker

Water Experiment No. 2

For today's water experiment I decided to do the old 'capture the drop of water as it hits more water'! I set up the tripod at the sink, filled the sink with water nearly to the top and then turned the tap on slightly so that a drip of water came out every 6 or so seconds. I used my macro lens and the camera set on Tv mode. I tried 1/2500th of a second today. I used my remote shutter release again, had the camera set to continuous shooting and used my watch to time how long in between drips so that I knew when the next one was coming!

It was a bit hit and miss but out of about 40 shots, I got 6 really cool ones! The only thing was the ISO was quite high at 1600 so it is a bit grainy. Maybe if I had slowed the shutter down a bit the ISO may have come down?? The aperture was at it's lowest being 2.8.

The other thing I wanted to try was some food dye in the sink water but we didn't have any!! Also the sink isn't the nicest surface to have as the background! Maybe if I had done it into a coloured bucket it may have been better. Then I could have done it outside so there would have been more light and then maybe the ISO could have been lower??

Lots to try the next time I do this!! Any other advice is more than welcome!!

In other happenings, Spence and I went to his last dancing class for the year so it was party time!! Spence and I baked two lots of cookies this morning to take as our party food! There were lots of kids there and they all had a great time dancing, then pigged out on the party food!!

The three of us are off to Mum and Dad's now until Saturday! We are taking the surfboards and are hoping to go for a surf on Saturday morning!

Thanks for all the comments on my First Water Experiment!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.