Feorlean

By feorlean

The Canongate in snow

A back blip. I noticed this view on Wednesday morning walking into the Parliament. I was able to get a picture of it on Thursday. I struck me on both days that I had never seen the centre of Edinburgh quite like this before, and certainly not in early December. The view is taken just outside the Queensberry House entrance to the Parliament , looking down to Holyrood Palace. Apparently this has been the worst snow fall in the city since 1965 - I remember a very heavy one in December 1973 but it did not last in the same way, and the showers did not keep coming, day after day. The High St was better cleared than most of the other main thoroughfares - Queen St on Tuesday night was white and rutted and buses were having great difficulty getting up and down to George St.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.