Another Day

By pcc

Lupins

We had to leave Queenstown today and make the drive back to Christchurch.
This is a beautiful time for all the wild lupins that are in abundance along the roadways, streams and some paddocks between the Lindis Pass and Burkes Pass.
Years ago they were sown by a woman who wanted to beautify the area -They are known as The Russell Lupin.
There are many many colours of them, and they just look stunning. IIt was difficult to make a choose of which photograph to put up. I could spend days there photographing them.

Yes I have been reminded that they are also a pest as they block the waterways, and also take over ground where breeding birds normally nest and lay their eggs, so Dept Of Conservation are very anti them and I do believe that they have sprayed them in the past, but not much sign of them receding at present.

Please take a look at my last 3 days entry that I have back blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.