Traditions

Every year around the second weekend in December we put up our Christmas tree and decorate the house. I don't go as crazy as I used to. There are no outside lights except for candelabra's in the windows all with red bulbs in them, but all the stockings are hung with care and some of the decorations on the tree date back to the 50's. Not to mention the stocking with my name on it is from when I was a young child.

Every year that I put up decorations, some made by my son when he was very young, some handed down from my grandparent and parents, some given as gifts from when we were first married or our first English Bulldog, some made by our grandchildren now. There's always a little story to tell with each and every special sparkle that goes on our tree or sits on the coffee tables. We drink a little wine, we tell our stories, we laugh and sometimes we cry. Our parents are no longer with us, but their stockings are up. I have photos of every Christmas tree since 1951 and I even have one from before I was born.

Our tradition!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.