Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

The Maddness (?)

This morning I took the time to watch this video:

The Story of Stuff

And then I got a letter from one of the kids wondering what to get for Ed. Which then started me thinking of an old Christmas Carol this way:

Hark "News Herald" angels sing
Go and buy some new damned thing
Peace on earth? Hell lets go wild
Card and ID reconciled
Who cares if the earth is dying?
When we know we must be buying?
How else can we show our love
Than to pollute the skies above?
Shop! The ads will give advice
Shop! Don't think who pays the price.

Put up lights that offer caution
Of the lead that they contain
Worry not, they look so festive,
How they might affect the brain
Of the ones who work to make them,
How are they feeling today?
Is this lifes great gift to thee,
"Shop til you drop now let us pray"?


I may seem a bit of a Scrooge here...but I do find myself brain washed into thinking my role is that of consumer sometimes, and it is not. Well, off to buy a secret santa gift... hahahahahah



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.