pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

ROYAL SPOONBILLS

Old habits die hard and " I must go down to the sea again " and I did!
I was very surprised to see a little flock of 7 Spoonbills as I thought they had taken off to the west Coast of the South Island to join the White Herons (kotuku) breeding there.

One of these birds pictured has the tell-tale signs of breeding on its plumage so it's got me a bit puzzled? The hope has been that we could get them to breed on this side of the " great divide " in other words breed at the ChCh Estuary, but this doesnt seem to have happened - However I'm wondering if something might be going on in the breeding arena with this birds plumage ??

Probably only interesting for the ornathologists amongst us ??

rgds pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.