DaveLoudon

By Daveloudon

The great Sandy Jardine

The boy never leaves me.

Just met Sandy Jardine. A boyhood hero! Probably the best ever Glasgow Rangers full back , and maybe even Scotlands. And if you check out the 'coincidence of the 'Rangers' writing then it was a photo opportunity I could not resist. I even got an autograph. Is this too sad at nearly 42?

You know what. I don't care. It reminds me of a time when I went to the football with my late father and my Uncle Bobby. Great times, sadly missed.

He was without doubt a world class full back and a key player in Rangers' two treble winning teams of 1976 and 1978. He was also a constant in all eight games en route to the Ibrox side?s 1972 Cup Winners? Cup victory in Barcelona over Dynamo Moscow, scoring in the 2-0 semi-final win over Bayern Munich.

And lest we forget, the man also played for Hearts in the twilight of his career, where he stayed until 1988. While at Hearts he won the second of his Scottish Player of the Year award, becoming the first player to do so with two different clubs.

One of Scotlands, Rangers, and Hearts greats. Here's to you big man!

Can you tell I am excited?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.