just allan

By allan

Nearly Home

Haddington 9 - Dunbar 2. East Lothian has lots of historic cast-iron road signs and this one is by the Edinburgh Road at West Barns. I've often noticed it and wondered how old it is, and today it was beautifully framed by the melting snow and bright green field.

It's unlike the majority of road signs, which are classic 'crossroads' signs topped with a circle marked 'ELCC' (East Lothian County Council). This style is only on the old A1 Edinburgh to London Road and sadly isn't as well maintained as the others.

I took the picture towards the end of a walk this morning, and when I've cycled home in years past it's been the marker I recognise as 'Nearly Home'. I got some shots of bullfinch and linnets as well as some snowy landscapes before the rain came on in the afternoon.

Flickr Gallery of the walk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.