While on my runs

By waipushrink

A very generous man

This morning in Wellington was gray and misty. Almost raining, but not quite. My favourite course when I have to stay over in Wellington takes me along the edge of the harbour and I obsessionally go around the ends of the wharves to gain the greatest distance on the very edge. This morning I went past a fisherman at the end of the longest wharf, and thought he looked at peace.

On my way back, just as I reached him his rod bent and he reeled in a kahawai. I stopped and talked to him about his fishing and also took his photo, showing his pleasure at his success.

He told me that from this spot in the inner harbour he catches cod and kahawai, most of which he then gives to "the old people". This was his first kahawai today, although he had previously caught two cod.

He clearly enjoys his fishing, even on a wettish early morning, and I was touched by his reporting of the generous gift to those unable to catch their own fish.

I have been away from home, and without access to a computer to post my blips for all but one evening since Friday morning until now. So, I posted four days worth of blips on Monday, and now two more. It has also meant, especially when I was in Raglan and had no access with the iPad either, that I have made few comments on others' blips. I have enjoyed those blips I have been able to see, and will be more attentive again now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.