horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Getting Closer...

Well, after my blue blob of a little over a week ago I'm getting closer to the elusive Kingfisher shot (and hope to get closer with the very very welcome advice from Challum). Anyway, this is a HEFTY crop from the original image, but edges out a beautiful little (uncropped) Goldcrest simply because of my personal history seeking out the King of river birds.

All of which meant Quiff Boy stood no chance...

I'd actually been happily snapping a Goosander from the road bridge through Dean Village when a lovely lady on the opposite side told me she was watching a Kingfisher. We chatted a bit (she told me a story of sitting downstream one lunchtime and finding an otter relaxing on his back 10 yards from her completely undisturbed by her presence) while I got a couple of shots. She went on her way and I tried to get a closer shot, but with icy snow still on the ground my slip and slither to the wall alongside his position meant I could do nothing to stop myself being seen and he darted off.

Ah well. We will meet again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.