just allan

By allan

Edinburgh skyline

Today I went back to work in Edinburgh for the first time in months. It was a beautiful day for a lunchtime walk to the Botanic Gardens. That's the Castle on the right and the Crags on the left. The middle is more or less the Royal Mile.

After my period of absence from work, it was a time to reflect on what Edinburgh has meant to me. This view captures a moment of peace for me.

The Botanics are near to my office, both a place for the public to enjoy and a place for ecologists to work. I think the last time I was completely content was 12 years ago when I worked at the Ecology Department of the University of Edinburgh. I worked with wonderful, interesting people. I had no real responsibilities or burdens. I did my work easily and I hope well. They did the ecology and I wrote the programs: "You write the lyrics and I'll pen the tunes" as Zia Hassan sings.

The rest of the day was pretty good and I want to thank Lucy for the hug and kind words. God Bless Lucy, to you and yours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.