Nanny State

An early and quick lunch time blip today. I have my work Christmas 'doo' later. It's a BBQ (and I don't want to miss out on my free sausage ;-)

As you can see, the new smoke free policy isn't popular with everyone.

In my experience the definition of 'Nanny State' goes something like this. If the government does things that meet with your approval, that isn't 'Nanny State'. If the government does things you don't like like, that's 'Nanny State'. I'm not a smoker so it's fine with me.

In this case it is the university deciding on a smoke free policy (not the government). An interesting decision given we actively seek to attract students from Saudi and other middle eastern countries, many of whom smoke.

Back to the work 'doo', hpx intends wearing a dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.