Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brutalist Bradford

Often cited as one of Bradford's ugliest buildings, Bradford's Kirkgate Centre has grown on me over the few years that I've lived here.

Part of its poor reputation has come about because it replaced the old Kirkgate Market Buildings, which through old photographs look preferable to what we have today.

This was nearly the first Arndale Centre in Britain - it was the first site that the Arndale Property Trust purchased - but Jarrow ended up as the first to be opened (thankyou Wikipedia).

To me the building comes alive in the sunshine, when the bold shapes and shadows intermingle, and I like this section with the clock especially.

I was on the back-up camera today, which seems to have a glitch in its date-setting, but hopefully the Blipfoto moderators will let this one through.

brutalist shadows ~ strong lines ~ times change

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.