Odd offerings out & about

By roymci

Welcome to Edinburgh

I was through at Edinburgh airport to pick up my sister and her boys who were finally flying in from New York at 7:30am. The boys were 14 & 11 the last time I saw them over 3 years ago.

I joined the weird ritual of families re-uniting at International Arrivals. There were whole families gathered waiting, there were a few senior mums and dads, a man in full highland regalia, a whole assortment of different people.

It used to be a common occurence for any international return that there'd be folk waiting to greet you but it now seems to be just an event for those from further afield.

With around upwards of 50 standing waiting for the first to appear, I started to feel the Scottish pressure of displays of public affection and wished I'd got a few more of the family up to come along for the show. Hovering towards the back seemed to be a better option so that meeting yours is a bit more private. One of the first though the gate, was an American girl who was immediately met and cuddled right as she emerged to the crowd and her face just crumpled up with tears and happiness for all to see and stayed that way for a good minute until she finally let the hug go.

Anyway, my sister came through and I forgot about everyone else and gave her a big hug and shook the hands of the boys who are tall and handsome and all grown up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.