Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The lucky shot

This photo's especially special to me. I didn't realize I had it.

Here Reuben's reading Father Christmas "The night before Christmas" and Callum is finally warming to ole Saint Nick. Reuben sweetly says "jingle bells all da way", with his newly acquired voice and spoken words and Callum says "Santi".

Having spent the whole afternoon shopping for Christmas presents with the boys in the tandem stroller and having my eyebrows done (Mama decides she needs to take much better care of herself), with Reuben waiting patiently and Callum opening and closing drawers in the concession, I called Jason to pick up the boys in their stroller along with all the gifts so I can focus on finding a baptism gown for Callum.

Later, I ask Jason where the gifts are and he has no recollection of them despite just a short walk with the boys and gifts to the car. The bags included not only all my gifts but the photo of the boys and this Santa with Callum actually smiling. It was such a precious shot and a sweet moment. I wasn't allowed to take a shot at the time, but surreptitiously captured this quickly from behind the photographer with an OK from her.

I guess some people get pretty desperate or just find it easier to take advantage of others at Christmas. Having your presents stolen is one thing, Visa cover them thankfully, but for me, having a photo stolen is quite another. It stinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.