I Must Down to the Sea Again

This is day nine of our Christmas extravaganza cruise to the Caribbean, and for eight of them, my dainty little feet have not touched terra firma.
Tomorrow, however we are due to dock in Antigua, and we will have the day ashore with a lobster lunch included. Mmmmm, sounds good!

This comes just in the nick of time to prevent a homicide in stateroom 6124.

His Lordship and I have never been good at the 24/7 togetherness, and especially are we not good at having to share a small space, where one or other always seems to be in the way.

And so we have developed our own methods of coping and mine has been to attend as many lectures as possible, take as many photographs as possible, spend a lot of time in the library and walk around the decks marveling at all the lobster like people sunning themselves on deck chairs.

I regret to tell you that it's about 77 degrees outside and far too hot for me to just sit and burn.

The gym has been somewhere to burn off the calories, but it also has become too hot for me, who can "perspire" freely just by climbing a flight of stairs.
His Lordship who doesn't tend to sweat in the gym ( you'll notice that men are allowed to sweat) has been known to sit in a sauna onboard, where presumably he manages that feat.

I have to say that although I admire the tenacity of the ancient, decrepit and unfirm to have braved the rigours of a transatlantic cruise with their zimmers, mobility cars and plethora of sticks and crutches, I find it all vaguely unsettling.
It's like seeing a preview of an expensive care home and it's not a vision of the future that I welcome.

Of course there are some younger people on board, but I have to say they are in the minority, And what I would like to forget is that I know that there will be passengers looking at his Lordship and me and placing us in the elderly category when we feel like the younger ones.
Such is life.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.