The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ice shard

The time of the winter solstice was notable for a number of remarkable natural phenomena:

A lunar eclipse with a blood red moon (I missed that one)

Ice floes in the Kent estuary -see blip. I'm not sure if someone has stood this shard of ice on its end, or whether it was heaved into this position by the rising tide the night before last. I prefer to believe the latter, and it did appear overnight.

An earthquake last night at 11 pm, measuring 3.5 on the Richter scale (quite something for a geologically stable area like the Lake District). I felt and heard this as a prolonged loud rumble when I was sat here at the computer.

A white crow (which I saw this morning when travelling to work)

The Oracle of Delphi could read a lot into all these signs. The good outcome was that at work the two big targets which had to be met before the end of the year have been achieved as of today. Perhaps the most incredible of all these phenomena.

Best viewed large.

As an alternative, there is a view of the partially frozen River Bela here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.