Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Almost finished

This is the almost finished product of the base that I blipped on Saturday. There is only the cleanup to do.

This sculpture is of two of the mascots for the Olympics next year. I saw a sign today that said they will begin in 233 days so I have the feeling the sculptures this year will have a distinctly Olympic flavour. It is about 4 meters high and there are about 15 on this street I think.

There are 5 mascots and there is an interesting story about their names. The Chinese for "Beijing Welcomes You" is "Beijing huan ying nin". An inventive person has named the mascots bei bei, jing jing, huan huan, ying ying and nin nin. They doubled on the sylables but changed the characters. It is sooooo cute. I love stuff like that.

The huge wall from last week is finished so I will try to go and get a pic tomorrow and blip that.

There is a fair but of detail in these sculptures but I am having trouble catching it. I would love to get advice from anyone about how I can get pics that show the detail carved into the ice. There are a few ice walls that have wonderful images carved in them that I would like to take and also to share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.