Eunique

By eunique

Stiff Neck

I was talking to a friend on the bus on Thursday night, and after she got down, I'd realised I couldn't turn my neck up, left or right without causing some pain.

It was more than a muscle pull, it was a nerve pull.
Each time I tried to turn my head, I felt the pain running through from my neck up to my brain.. seriously.
Ouch.

On Friday evening, my dad accompanied me to the Sinseh (Chinese medicine man) who operated within his own apartment. I went to him twice about 4 years ago when I sprained my ankle, and that time when he massaged my ankle and got the joints into place, it was absolutely painless and almost an instantaneous heal! This time though, it involved more pain, more prodding and poking (okok, so it's a skill to know what "points" to push) of my arms and back with medicated oil, since the nerves were connected to one another, and it wasn't just my neck that had to be looked at. After all that, he rubbed zam-bak (an ointment) on my arm before applying this brownish medicated paste-like substance and bandaging both my arms. He instructed me to do the same to my back when I got home (with very very much thanks to my aunt who helped me with this). He told me not to take chicken, green tea, or any chinese or english tea for about a week, and to remove the bandages after a day and apply warm water to the different points.

I felt much much better on Saturday! Hence you see this cheeky self-portrait I did of myself..

..however, this morning (Sunday), I felt the pain coming back again. aggh.
It's like going to be Christmas soon.. and I'm kinda worried about this pain.. should I go back to the sinseh again? or should I, like my brother advised, go see a western doctor at a hospital for a check-up? Then again, getting my family worried on a festive season is so awful.

I don't deny that I am worried :(

God, I seek your healing, I pray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.