Another Day

By pcc

Union Jack

Today I met up with hpx and we went to view 'The Heart of the Great Alone' Exhibition of Photography by Herbert George Ponting, on Scott's Terra Nova expedition of 1910 - 1913, and Frank Hurley's, taken during the Ernest Shackleton' polar expedition on Endurance in 1914 - 1916, from the Antarctica, at the McDougall Art Gallery.
Absolutely amazing black and whites, some done in sepia, and others with a blue tone and one with a red tone. Exceptional work done on glass plates, and the sharpness was from front to back. Stunning images of ice and glaciers, penguins, seals, horses, dogs, the boats, the men and how they lived daily.
This was the Union Jack which was given by Queen Victoria to Scott when he was on the expedition with the ship 'Nimrod", and was returned to her.
I guess it is made of silk, and I like the way it cast a shadow on the back wall.
For once in my life I limited myself to my 50 ml lens, one that I bought earl this year and have very rarely used. I found that I did not like being restricted at all!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.