just be

By justbe

Redbird

Redbirds

Sara Teasdale

Redbirds, redbirds,
Long and long ago,
What a honey-call you had
In hills I used to know;

Redbud, buckberry,
Wild plum-tree
And proud river sweeping
Southward to the sea,

Brown and gold in the sun
Sparkling far below,
Trailing stately round her bluffs
Where the poplars grow --

Redbirds, redbirds,
Are you singing still
As you sang one May day
On Saxton's Hill?



A sad task will begin again soon. My sweet nephew has helped me make a photo montage DVD per request of my friend and partner. We worked on it yesterday, very very tough to do. The toughest is a picture of her at two, in high white baby shoes with a little white live rabbit that's sitting a wooden pull toy. She's happily sprawled on the Florida sand, in 1944. That opening photograph on the DVD breaks my heart every time. I pulled it out of an old album about 40 years ago, I still see her sweet baby face in the brilliant adult she has become. I have no words suitable for blip to label cancer.

Tomorrow we will rise very early and pick up her sister and niece on a 5 AM flight from the beautiful Rocky Mountains of Colorado. Thousands of miles away they must leave their 99 year old mother and grandmother in the care of others as they travel to be with B. We'll drive a couple of hours to Freeport Maine and enjoy being together.

I saw my first Pine Siskin today and finally captured the elusive Cardinal. I'm working on an identification of another drab brown bird, she may be a female cowbird, I'll link her photo, perhaps someone knows.


Tomorrow's blip will probably be pretty junky, done in a rush at 4:30 AM, enjoy the red flash today!

Pine Siskin

Female Cowbird

Female Cowbird again

Carolina Wren




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.